Sonic Youth and The Smiths Included on ‘Perks of Being a Wallflower’ Soundtrack

It's nothing new. Most "indie" films endeavour to package themselves as precisely that. And what's the key ingredient? ...Music. Well, on top of all the floppy haircuts and hip garms... Yo La Tengo on the Adventureland soundtrack, The Shins on the Garden State soundtrack. You know the score.

The soundtrack for The Perks of Being a Wallflower, a film that we’re still not entirely sold on (watch the trailer here), will feature Sonic Youth, Galaxie 500, Cocteau Twins and some other great indie giants. Take a peek at its tracklisting...

1. The Samples - Could It Be Another Change

2. Dexys Midnight Runners - Come On Eileen

3. Galaxie 500 - Tugboat

4. New Order - Temptation

5. The Innocence Mission - Evensong

6. The Smiths - Asleep
7. Cracker - Low

8. Sonic Youth - Teenage Riot

9. XTC - Dear God (2001 Digital Remaster)

10. Cocteau Twins - Pearly-Dewdrops' Drops

11. Michael Brook - Pouter

12. David Bowie – Heroes

The film is an adaptation of Stephen Chbosky’s book of the same title, which he'll be directing, too. It follows a shy, introverted freshman (Logan Lerman) who is taken under the wing of two seniors (Ezra Miller and Emma Watson) who show him what 'real life' is all about, including, presumably, all the great records he needs to be listening to.

The film will be released in Canada on September 14th, but dig this in the meantime...

Unconventional by Tradition

Discover how urban creatives helped us design our new packaging.

Read more